Alumnus awarded prestigious geophysics medal

The Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists has awarded the ASEG Gold Medal to University of Melbourne alumnus Richard Lane at a ceremony in Canberra.

Photo credit: Kath Hagan, Geoscience Australia

The Medal is awarded to individuals for exceptional and highly distinguished contributions to the science and practice of geophysics.

Mr Lane is widely recognised throughout the global geophysics community for his keen intellect and insight into geophysical methods in both mining and petroleum, and for his frequent contributions at conferences in Australia and overseas. He studied a Bachelor of Science (Honours) degree in Geology and Geophysics from the University of Melbourne in 1983, and joined CRAE (now known as Rio Tinto) a year later. He has subsequently held a number of positions in both private enterprise and government agencies, and is currently with Geoscience Australia as senior geophysicist in the Onshore Energy and Minerals Division.

Incidentally, Dr Terry Lee, who majored in Geophysics at the University of Melbourne in 1968, was also awarded an ASEG Gold Medal in 2015. The Medal was first awarded in 1989, and Richard Lane is the ninth recipient.