Thermochronology and Noble Gas Geochronology and Geochemistry Organisation

The Thermochronology and Noble Gas Geochronology and Geochemistry Organisation (TANG3O) fosters scientific and technical collaboration between affiliated laboratories at the University of Melbourne, The Australian National University, The University of Queensland and Curtin University.

Overview

The Thermochronology and Noble gas Geochronology and Geochemistry Organisation (TANG3O) was formed in 2008 to coordinate the re-equipment of Australia's noble gas laboratories and to foster technical cooperation and research collaboration.

The organisation includes the 40Ar/39Ar, Fission Track and (U-Th)/He laboratories at the University of Melbourne, The Australian National University, The University of Queensland and Curtin University.

TANG3O collaboration has been successful with the acquisition of several Australian Research Council Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities (ARC LIEF) grants for the purchase of three new generation ARGUSVI, one HELIX and one HELIX-SFT mass spectrometers. On-going cooperation is focused on the establishment of a common platform for system automation, analytical and data reduction protocols.

Equipment

People

Associate Professor David Phillips, The University of Melbournedphillip@unimelb.edu.au
Prof Barry Kohn, The University of Melbourneb.kohn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Masahiko Honda, The Australian National Universitymasahiko.honda@anu.edu.au
Professor Gordon Lister, The Australia National Universitygordon.lister@anu.edu.au
Prof Paulo Vasconcelos, The University of Queenslandp.vasconcelos@uq.edu.au
Professor Brent McInnes, Curtin Universitydirectorjdlc@curtin.edu.au
Professor Andy Gleadow, The University of Melbournegleadow@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Mark Kendrick, The University of Melbournemark.kendrick@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Marnie Forster, The Australian National Universitymarnie.forster@anu.edu.au
Prof Trevor Ireland, The Australian National Universitytrevor.ireland@anu.edu.au
Dr Fred Jourdan, Curtin Universityf.jourdan@curtin.edu.au